Trying To Get A Documentary Off The Ground

One thing I really like is documentaries.  I have always been fascinated by programs like Nova or The American Experience that rely on a documentary format.  And for me they do a great job at being compelling, the majority of the time I am stuck to the screen.  So I guess it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I want to make one.

I already have the main idea.  This happened as I was checking a Facebook group page about Cape Verdians. One of the posts was about the research a woman had done tracing her family roots back to the early 1700’s on the island of Fogo.  So I looked at her website even closer and found a treasure trove of information that can be used to make a great documentary.  I got ahold of her and she thinks it is a great idea, so now to get this thing up off the ground.  It will be a retroactive telling of the history of this woman’s homeland as seen through her own genealogical history.

For starters I have already applied to two charity organizations for grants.  One being the BRITDOC Foundation in the UK and the other being Cinereach.  I should hear back from them in one to two months to see if they are interested in giving me money.  It would be great if they asked me to submit a full proposal, so here I am crossing my fingers.

Other options on the table are to pitch the idea to a couple of organizations, maybe Ancestry.com or try to find people who have connections to the History Channel or NatGeo.  So I do have my eyes open to suggestions if anyone has some leads for me on this front.

Another great resource I found on the topic of fundraising is from the Desktop Documentaries website, the link to them is in the blogroll sidebar.  That site has a guide of 25 ideas that can be used to raise money, you have to subscribe to a newsletter to get it, it is a pdf download.  This guide covers topics such as crowd funding, yard sales, house parties , cooking demos, and selling movie frames to name a couple.  But on the site itself and not in the guide is the suggestion to do video contests through sites like PopTent and Zooppa. Sounds like a no-brainer on that one.  Big payouts if you win and that is great to purchase gear and save up for the airfare required for this documentary project I have my heart set on.  So wish me luck, I’m filming for a couple of these contests fairly quickly.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

