Pro “as Arri” Lights

So the other day I was thinking about investing in a light kit for my video work. There were a couple of options and I was really leaning toward getting a Lowel DV Creator 1 kit. But after researching my options a little more I found that a couple friends were having good results using a cheap knock off kit out if China that resembles Arri lights.
After searching a couple days on eBay I found a complete set of two peppers a tweenie and a baby for 650 dollars, minus scrims. So I decided to bite the bullet and put in a bid. I won.
Now they have already shipped and in about a week they should be here. I can’t wait to try them out on upcoming projects.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by The Video Geek on October 1, 2013 - 7:41 AM

    Please share the results. I have a few friends looking for kits themselves. Plus, one can never have too many kinds of lights.

    • #2 by petedburgess on October 9, 2013 - 9:13 AM

      Alright, I got them and they are actually pretty nice. Downside is the insides of some are not constructed as well as Arri and the 650 and 1000 lights hum, but I think that is the cheap Chinese gloves that came with them. So I’ll get some other globes to see if that fixes it.

Leave a Reply

